The Automatic Updater

The Automatic Updater ensures that you always have the latest features and bugfixes for your ownCloud synchronization client.

The Automatic Updater updates only on Mac OS X and Windows computers; Linux users only need to use their normal package managers. However, on Linux systems the Updater will check for updates and notify you when a new version is available.


Because of various technical issues, desktop sync clients older than 1.7 will not be allowed to connect and sync with the ownCloud 8.1 server. It is highly recommended to keep your client updated.

Basic Workflow

The following sections describe how to use the Automatic Updater on different operating systems.


The ownCloud client checks for updates and downloads them when available. You can view the update status under Settings -> General -> Updates in the ownCloud client.

If an update is available, and has been successfully downloaded, the ownCloud client starts a silent update prior to its next launch and then restarts itself. Should the silent update fail, the client offers a manual download.

When you upgrade from 1.7 you should restart Windows to ensure that all the new features in 1.8 are enabled.


Administrative privileges are required to perform the update.

Mac OS X

If a new update is available, the ownCloud client initializes a pop-up dialog to alert you of the update and requesting that you update to the latest version. Due to their use of the Sparkle frameworks, this is the default process for Mac OS X applications.


Linux distributions provide their own update tools, so ownCloud clients that use the Linux operating system do not perform any updates on their own. The client will inform you (Settings -> General -> Updates) when an update is available.

Preventing Automatic Updates

In controlled environments, such as companies or universities, you might not want to enable the auto-update mechanism, as it interferes with controlled deployment tools and policies. To address this case, it is possible to disable the auto-updater entirely. The following sections describe how to disable the auto-update mechanism for different operating systems.

Preventing Automatic Updates in Windows Environments

You can prevent automatic updates from occuring in Windows environments using one of two methods. The first method allows users to override the automatic update check mechanism whereas the second method prevents any manual overrides.

To prevent automatic updates, but allow manual overrides:

  1. Edit these Registry keys:

    1. (32-bit) HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ownCloud\ownCloud
    2. (64-bit) HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node\ownCloud\ownCloud
  2. Add the key skipUpdateCheck (of type DWORD).

  3. Specify a value of 1 to the machine.

To manually override this key, use the same value in HKEY_CURRENT_USER.

To prevent automatic updates and disallow manual overrides:

  1. Migrate to the following directory:

  2. Add the key skipUpdateCheck (of type DWORD).

  3. Specify a value of 1 to the machine.

Preventing Automatic Updates in Mac OS X Environments

You can disable the automatic update mechanism in Mac OS X operating systems using the system-wide .plist file. To access this file:

  1. Go to this directory:

  1. Locate and open the following file:

  1. Add a new root level item of type bool.
  2. Name the item skipUpdateCheck.
  3. Set the item to true.

Alternatively, you can copy the file to /Library/Preferences/com.owncloud.desktopclient.plist.

Preventing Automatic Updates in Linux Environments

Because the Linux client does not provide automatic updating functionality, there is no need to remove the automatic-update check. However, if you want to disable it edit your desktop client configuration file, $HOME/.local/share/data/ownCloud/owncloud.cfg. Add these lines:

[General] skipUpdateCheck=true