Introduction

Available for Windows, Mac OS X, and various Linux distributions, the ownCloud Desktop Sync client enables you to:

  • Specify one or more directories on your computer that you want to synchronize to the ownCloud server.
  • Always have the latest files synchronized, wherever they are located.

Your files are always automatically synchronized between your ownCloud server and local PC.

Note

Because of various technical issues, desktop sync clients older than 1.7 will not allowed to connect and sync with the ownCloud 8.1+ server. It is highly recommended to keep your client updated.

Improvements and New Features

The 2.1 release of the ownCloud desktop sync client has many new features and improvements. (See the complete changelog.)

  • Improved appearance on HiDPI screens
  • Improved error messages
  • Several fixes/improvements to the sharing dialog
  • Several fixes/improvements to the server activity tab
  • Allow changeable upload chunk size in owncloud.cfg
  • Forget password on explicit sign-out
  • Windows: Fix deleting and replacing of read-only files
  • Share with internal ownCloud users from your desktop
  • Separate views for server activity, sync activity, and errors
  • Don’t re-upload *eml-files if size and checksum are unchanged
  • Improved upload/download progress indicator
All documentation licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license.