Removing the Desktop Synchronization Client

Removing the Configuration File

When you remove the client - the configuration file remains on your system. If you then decide to install the client again, you won’t need to re-enter the connection information.

In case you want a clean removal of the client, you manually have to delete the configuration file. The location of the configuration file is operating system dependent and can be found in the Configuration File description.

Windows Navigation Sidebar

If you have removed the Windows Synchronization Client but still have the ownCloud shortcut or symbol in the Windows Navigation Side Bar, here is how you to remove it:

  1. Open regedit. (press the Windows Key and type regedit)

  2. Search (CTL+F) for the name of the client, in this case `owncloud `.

  3. Press F3 for next search result.

  4. Look for the key System.IsPinnedToNameSpaceTree.

  5. Right click on the key name, change, set to 0 instead of 1.

You have to do this twice. Once for the x64 and x32 system settings.

Once this is done, you don’t need a reboot, just open and close your explorer - the sidebar is clean.