FAQ

Some Files Are Continuously Uploaded To The Server, Even When They Are Not Modified

It is possible that another program is changing the modification date of the file. If the file is uses the .eml extension, Windows automatically and continually changes all files, unless you remove. \HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\PropertySystem\PropertyHandlers from the windows registry. See http://petersteier.wordpress.com/2011/10/22/windows-indexer-changes-modification-dates-of-eml-files/ for more information.

Syncing Stops When Attempting To Sync Deeper Than 100 Sub-directories

The sync client has been intentionally limited to sync no deeper than 100 sub-directories. The hard limit exists to guard against bugs with cycles like symbolic link loops. When a deeply nested directory is excluded from synchronization it will be listed with other ignored files and directories in the "Not synced" tab of the "Activity" pane.

I See a Warning Message for Unsupported Versions

Keeping software up to date is crucial for file integrity and security – if software is outdated, there can be unfixed bugs. That’s why you should always upgrade your software when there is a new version.

The ownCloud Desktop Client talks to a server, e.g. the ownCloud server, so you don’t only have to upgrade your client when there is a new version for it, also the server has to be kept up-to-date by your sysadmin. Starting with version 2.5.0, the client will show a warning message if you connect to an outdated or unsupported server:

image

Because earlier versions are not maintained anymore, only ownCloud. 10.0.0 or higher is supported

So if you encounter such a message, you should ask your administrator to upgrade ownCloud to a secure version. An important feature of the ownCloud Client is checksumming – each time you download or upload a file, the client and the server both check if the file was corrupted during the sync. This way you can be sure that you don’t lose any files.

There are servers out there which don’t have checksumming implemented on their side, or which are not tested by ownCloud’s QA team. They can’t ensure file integrity, they have potential security issues, and we can’t guarantee that they are compatible with the ownCloud Desktop Client.

We care about your data and want it to be safe

That’s why you see this warning message, so you can evaluate your data security. Don’t worry – you can still use the client with an unsupported server, but do so at your own risk.

There Was A Warning About Changes In Synchronized Folders Not Being Tracked Reliably

On Linux when the synchronized folder contains very many subfolders the operating system may not allow for enough inotify watches to monitor the changes in all of them.

In this case the client will not be able to immediately start the synchronization process when a file in one of the unmonitored folders changes. Instead, the client will show the warning and manually scan folders for changes in a regular interval (two hours by default).

This problem can be solved by setting the fs.inotify.max_user_watches sysctl to a higher value. This can usually be done either temporarily:

echo 524288 > /proc/sys/fs/inotify/max_user_watches.

or permanently by adjusting /etc/sysctl.conf.

I Want To Move My Local Sync Folder

The ownCloud desktop client does not provide a way to change the local sync directory. However, it can be done, though it is a bit unorthodox. Specifically, you have to:

  1. Remove the existing connection which syncs to the wrong directory.

  2. Add a new connection which syncs to the desired directory.

image

To do so, in the client UI, which you can see above, click the "Account" drop-down menu and then click "Remove". This will display a "Confirm Account Removal" dialog window.

image

If you’re sure, click "Remove connection". Then, click the Account drop-down menu again, and this time click "Add new".

image

This opens the ownCloud Connection Wizard, which you can see above, but with an extra option. This option provides the ability to either keep the existing data (synced by the previous connection) or to start a clean sync (erasing the existing data).

Be careful before choosing the "Start a clean sync" option. The old sync folder may contain a considerable amount of data, ranging into the gigabytes or terabytes. If it does, after the client creates the new connection, it will have to download all of that information again.

Instead, first move or copy the old local sync folder, containing a copy of the existing files, to the new location. Then, when creating the new connection choose "keep existing data" instead. The ownCloud client will check the files in the newly-added sync folder and find that they match what is on the server and not need to download anything.

Make your choice and click "Connect…​" This will then step you through the Connection Wizard, just as you did when you setup the previous sync connection, but giving you the opportunity to choose a new sync directory.

I Want To Change My Server Url

Since changing server urls is a potentially dangerous operation the ownCloud desktop client does not provide a user interface for this change. Typically, server url changes should be implemented by serving a permanent redirect to the new location on the old url. The client will then permanently update the server url the next time it queries the old url.

For situations where arranging for a redirect is impossible, url changes can be done by editing the config file. Before doing so make sure that the new url does indeed point to the same server, with the same users and the same data. Then go through these steps:

  1. Shut down the ownCloud client.

  2. Locate the configuration file. It’s usually located in AppData/Roaming/ownCloud/owncloud.cfg on Windows or ~/.config/ownCloud/owncloud.cfg on Linux.

  3. Open it with a text editor.

  4. Find your old server url and adjust it.

  5. Save the file and start the ownCloud client again.