The Automatic Updater

The Automatic Updater ensures that you always have the latest features and bug fixes for your ownCloud synchronization client.

The Automatic Updater updates only on Mac OS X and Windows computers; Linux users only need to use their normal package managers. However, on Linux systems the Updater will check for updates and notify you when a new version is available.

Note

Because of various technical issues, desktop sync clients older than 1.7 will not be allowed to connect and sync with the ownCloud 8.1+ server. It is highly recommended to keep your client updated.

Basic Workflow

The following sections describe how to use the Automatic Updater on different operating systems.

Windows

The ownCloud client checks for updates and downloads them when available. You can view the update status under Settings -> General -> Updates in the ownCloud client.

If an update is available, and has been successfully downloaded, the ownCloud client starts a silent update prior to its next launch and then restarts itself. Should the silent update fail, the client offers a manual download.

Note

Administrative privileges are required to perform the update.

Mac OS X

If a new update is available, the ownCloud client initializes a pop-up dialog to alert you of the update and requesting that you update to the latest version. Due to their use of the Sparkle frameworks, this is the default process for Mac OS X applications.

Linux

Linux distributions provide their own update tools, so ownCloud clients that use the Linux operating system do not perform any updates on their own. The client will inform you (Settings -> General -> Updates) when an update is available.

Preventing Automatic Updates

In controlled environments, such as companies or universities, you might not want to enable the auto-update mechanism, as it interferes with controlled deployment tools and policies. To address this case, it is possible to disable the auto-updater entirely. The following sections describe how to disable the auto-update mechanism for different operating systems.

Preventing Automatic Updates in Windows Environments

Users may disable automatic updates by adding this line to the [General] section of their owncloud.cfg files:

skipUpdateCheck=true

Windows administrators have more options for preventing automatic updates in Windows environments by using one of two methods. The first method allows users to override the automatic update check mechanism, whereas the second method prevents any manual overrides.

To prevent automatic updates, but allow manual overrides:

  1. Edit these Registry keys:

    1. (32-bit-Windows) HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\ownCloud\ownCloud
    2. (64-bit-Windows) HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node\ownCloud\ownCloud
  2. Add the key skipUpdateCheck (of type DWORD).

  3. Specify a value of 1 to the machine.

To manually override this key, use the same value in HKEY_CURRENT_USER.

To prevent automatic updates and disallow manual overrides:

Note

This is the preferred method of controlling the updater behavior using Group Policies.

  1. Edit this Registry key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Policies\ownCloud\ownCloud

  2. Add the key skipUpdateCheck (of type DWORD).

  3. Specify a value of 1 to the machine.

Note

Enterprise branded clients (see Building Branded ownCloud Clients) have different key names, which are set in ownBrander using the Application Vendor and Application Name fields. Your key names look like this:

``HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Policies\myCompanyName\myAppName``

Preventing Automatic Updates in Mac OS X Environments

You can disable the automatic update mechanism, in the Mac OS X operating system, by copying the file owncloud.app/Contents/Resources/deny_autoupdate_com.owncloud.desktopclient.plist to /Library/Preferences/com.owncloud.desktopclient.plist.

Preventing Automatic Updates in Linux Environments

Because the Linux client does not provide automatic updating functionality, there is no need to remove the automatic-update check. However, if you want to disable it edit your desktop client configuration file, $HOME/.local/share/data/ownCloud/owncloud.cfg. Add this line to the [General] section:

skipUpdateCheck=true
All documentation licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license.