- Sharing Status Icons
- Creating Shares
- Updating Shares
- Deleting Shares
- Renaming Shares
- Password Protecting Files
- Using Private Links
- Changing The Share Expiration Date
- Creating or Connecting to Federation Share Links
- Share Permissions
- Creating Drop Folders
- Using Drop Folders
Clicking the share icon on any file or folder opens the Details view on the right, where the Share tab has focus.
Any folder that has been shared is marked with the
Shared overlay icon.
Public link shares are marked with a chain link. Un-shared folders are blank.
If your ownCloud server is the Enterprise edition, you may also have access to Sharepoint and Windows Network Drive file shares. These have special status icons. An icon with a red plugin and background means you have to enter a login to get access to the share.
To share a file or folder, immediately below the Share tab, you will see a text field. In this field, you can enter any number of users (whether local to your ownCloud server or remote) or groups who you would like to share the file or folder with.
If username auto-completion is enabled, when you start typing the user or group name ownCloud will automatically complete it for you, if possible.
From 10.0.8, user and group name search results are dependent on a new
After a file or folder has been shared, Share Permissions can be set on it. In the image below, you can see that the directory "event-Photos" is shared with the user "pierpont", who can share, edit, create, change, and delete the directory.
You can navigate directly to the sharing pane for a file by using the URL:
If a share recipient has "can edit" privileges and moves files or folders out of the share, ownCloud stores a backup copy of the moved file/folder in the Deleted Files (Trash) of the share’s owner. The user who moved the file/folder out of the share still has the original copy there, along with its attached metadata.
That way, the files/folders are not permanently lost. By clicking the Restore link, next to the respective file or folder, ownCloud will restore these files/folders to their original location.
|Restoring files restores the backup copy for all users, including the user that originally moved them, into the original folder.|
Users can also share files and folders with guest users. To do so, your ownCloud administrator will need to have installed the Guest application.
If it’s already installed, in the
User and Groups field of the
Sharing panel, type the email address of a user who is not
already a user in your ownCloud installation. You will then see a popup
appear with the suffix
(guest), as in the screenshot below.
After you do that, the content will be shared with the user with all permissions applied, except for the ability to share with other users.
|Guest users can also use the Desktop/IOS/Andriod Sync Clients to access synced files locally.|
To change any of the properties of a share, again, you first need to view the Share tab. From there, you can:
Delete a user’s access to a share
Give more users access to a share
Change a user’s share permissions
Add or remove password protection
Set or remove a share’s expiration date
This functionality is already described in other parts of this documentation and won’t be specifically covered here.
Despite the name of this section, you don’t actually delete a share. Rather what you do is remove the access of user’s to whom it’s already been shared with. When all users access to a shared resource has been removed, the resource is no longer shared.
To do that, you need to click on the rubbish bin icon, on the far right-hand side of the name of each user it’s been shared with, who should no longer have access to it.
Both the sharer and all share recipients can rename a share at any time. However, when one user renames a share, it only renames their version; no other users see the new share name. Essentially, the share name remains the same for all other users.
In case that’s a little unclear, step through the following scenario:
User Jenny creates a directory called "Growth Projects 2019" and shares it with James, Peter, and Sarah. A week later, James renames the share to "Growth Projects 2019 — Draft!". James sees the share with the new name, but Jenny, Peter, and Sarah continue seeing the share with its original name ("Growth Projects 2019").
This feature may seem a little strange; however, it provides flexibility for all users to manage their files and folders as they see fit.
It’s also possible to password protect shared files and folders. If you want to do so, then you need to enable this functionality. Specifically, click the checkbox labeled Password protect under the "Share Link" section.
When you do so, you’ll see a password field appear. In there, add the password that the user will need to enter to access the shared resource and press the return key.
Another way to access a file or folder is via a private link. It’s a handy way of creating a permanent link for yourself or to point others to a file or folder, within a share, more efficiently. To access the private link, in the Sharing Panel for a file or folder, next to its name you’ll see a small link icon (1), as in the screenshot below.
If you click it, a new textbox will appear above the "Collaborative tags" field, populated with the link’s URI (2).
|Only people who have access to the file or folder can use the link.|
You can set an expiration date on any of user, group and public link shares. The administrator may have set a default expiration for shares. If so, then new shares will have the default expiration. You may adjust or remove the expiration date.
The administrator may have enforced the default expiration to be the maximum expiration. In that case, you must set an expiration date less than or equal to the maximum.
The share will expire at the end of the specified expiration date. Users of the share will no longer be able to access it.
Federated Cloud Sharing allows you to mount file shares from remote ownCloud servers, and manage them just like a local share. In ownCloud 8 the process for creating a new sharing link is easier and more streamlined. See Using Federation Shares to learn to how to create and connect to new Federated Cloud shares.
Shares can have a combination of the following five permission types:
Allows the users you share with to re-share
Allows the users you share with to edit your shared files, and to collaborate using the Documents app
Allows the users you share with to create new files and add them to the share
Allows uploading a new version of a shared file and replacing it
Allows the users you share with to delete shared files
As of ownCloud version 10.0.2, users can create upload-only, public shares (otherwise known as "Drop Folders"). Drop Folders allow users to upload files to a central location, but don’t allow them to either see or change any existing files, which already have been uploaded.
To create one:
View the sharing panel of the folder that you want to share as a Drop Folder, select.
As with other shares, provide the name in the "Link Name" field.
Check Allow editing, un-check Show file listing, and then un-check Allow editing.
Finally, click Save to complete creation of the share.
Now, as with other public links, you can copy the link to the share and give it out, as and when necessary.