Managing Deleted Files¶
When you delete a file in ownCloud, it is not immediately deleted permanently. Instead, it is moved into the trash bin. It is not permanently deleted until you manually delete it, or when the Deleted Files app deletes it to make room for new files.
Find your deleted files by clicking on the Deleted files button on the Files page of the ownCloud Web interface. You’ll have options to either restore or permanently delete files.
Deleted files are not counted against your storage quota. Only files that originate with users count against their quotas, not files shared with them that originate from other users. (See Storage Quota to learn more about quotas.)
How the Deleted Files app Manages Storage Space¶
To ensure that users doesn’t run over their storage quotas, the Deleted Files app allocates a maximum of 50% of their currently available free space to deleted files. If your deleted files exceed this limit, ownCloud deletes the oldest files (files with the oldest timestamps from when they were deleted) until it meets the memory usage limit again.
ownCloud checks the age of deleted files every time new files are added to the deleted files. By default, deleted files stay in the trash bin for 180 days. The ownCloud server administrator can adjust this value in the config.php file by setting the trashbin_retention_obligation value. Files older than the trashbin_retention_obligation value will be deleted permanently. Additionally, ownCloud calculates the maximum available space every time a new file is added. If the deleted files exceed the new maximum allowed space ownCloud will expire old deleted files until the limit is met once again. .. 7.0 replace:: 7.0