Accessing your Files Using the ownCloud Web Interface

You can access your ownCloud files with the ownCloud web interface and create, preview, edit, delete, share, and re-share files. Your ownCloud administrator has the option to disable these features, so if any of them are missing on your system ask your server administrator.

../_images/users-files.png

ownCloud can display thumbnail previews for image files, MP3 covers, and text files, if this enabled by your server administrator. Hover your cursor over a file or folder to expose the controls for the following operations:

Favorites
Click the star to the left of the file icon to mark it as a favorite.
Pencil icon
Rename a file or folder. This does not alter the filename on the original document.
Download
Download the file to your computer.
Versions
Displays older versions, if there are any, and you can revert to an older file version.
Edit
The Edit button appears on files that are editable inside ownCloud, in the Documents app. Supported file formats are .odt, .doc, and .docx.
Share
Share the file or folder with a group or other users, and create public shares with hyperlinks.
Trash
Delete the selected file or folder, or unshare a shared file or folder.

Previewing Files

You can display uncompressed text files, OpenDocument files, videos, and image files in the ownCloud embedded viewers by clicking on the file name. There may be other file types you can preview if your ownCloud administrator has enabled them. If ownCloud cannot display a file, it starts a download process and downloads the file to your computer.

Video streaming by the native ownCloud video player depends on your Web browser and the video format. If your ownCloud administrator has enabled video streaming, and it doesn’t work in your Web browser, it may be a browser issue. See https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/HTML/Supported_media_formats#Browser_compatibility for supported multimedia formats in Web browsers.

Overlay Icons Show Sharing Status

Any folder that has been shared is marked with the Shared overlay icon. Public link shares are marked with a chain link. Un-shared folders are blank.

../_images/users-overlays.png

If your ownCloud server is the Enterprise edition, you may also have access to Sharepoint and Windows Network Drive file shares. These also have special overlay icons, and a red plugin means you have to enter a login to get access to the share.

../_images/users-overlays-win-net-drive.png
../_images/users-overlays-sharepoint.png

Creating or Uploading Files and Directories

ownCloud enables you to create new files or folders directly in an ownCloud folder by clicking on the New button in the Files app.

../_images/oc_filesweb_new.png

New button options

The New button provides the following three options from which to choose:

Text file
Creates a simple text file and adds the file to your current folder.
Folder
Creates a new folder in the current folder.
From link
Downloads a file from a URL that you type or copy into the form field, and places it into the current folder.
Up arrow
The upward-point arrow is for uploading files from your computer into ownCloud.

You can also upload files by dragging and dropping them from your file manager.

Selecting Files or Folders

You can select one or more files or folders by clicking on the small thumbnails or icons that represent them. When you select a file or folder, a small checkbox is populated with a check to indicate that it is selected. To select all files in the current directory, you can click on the checkbox located at the top of the Files app field, above the first file or folder on the list.

If you select multiple files, you can delete all of the selected files or download them as a ZIP file by using the Delete or Download buttons at the top right side of the Files app field.

Note

If the Download button is not visible, the administrator has disabled this feature. Contact your administrator for further guidance.

Filtering the File Application View

ownCloud enables you to view files in the File Application View using filter options located in the Apps Information Field. This feature enables you to quickly and easily view and manage files based on their share status.

You can click on any of the filter options to view the files as follows:

All files
The default view; displays all files that you have access to.
Favorites
Files or folders marked with the yellow star.
Shared with you
Displays all files shared with you by another user or group.
Shared with others
Displays all files that you have shared with other users or groups.
Shared by link
Displays all files that are shared by you via public link.
External Storage
Files that you have access to on external storage devices and services such as Dropbox, Google, and Amazon S3.

Moving Files

Using the ownCloud web interface, you can move files and folders by dragging and dropping them into any directory.

Sharing Files Locally

When enabled by your administrator, you can share files or folders on ownCloud with a local user, group, or any person online with a public link. Shared files and folders are labeled with the triangular share icon, and the status Shared in the file or folder row.

To create a local share with other users or groups on your ownCloud server:

  1. Hover your cursor over an item on the Files page
  2. Click the Share icon

The Share dialog box opens to show the following options:

../_images/users-share-local.png

Share dialog box

Type the name of the user or group that you want to share with. If you want to share with more than one, you have to create each share separately. Check the permissions you want the user or group to have, and optionally send them an email notification.

Note

Users must enter their email addresses on their Personal pages for email notifications to work

Your new share appears on user’s Files pages marked with a Share icon, and the name of the file owner.

../_images/users-share-local2.png

Shared file

When you want to revoke a share, simply click the Trashcan icon next to the name of the appropriate user or group in the Shared dialog.

You have five share permissions:

  • Can share; allows the users you share with to re-share.
  • Can edit; allows the users you share with to edit your shared files, and to collaborate using the Documents app.
  • Create; allows the users you share with to create new files and add them to the share.
  • Change; allows uploading a new version of a shared file and replacing it.
  • Delete; allows the users you share with to delete shared files.

Change in Share Expiration Date

In older versions of ownCloud, you could set an expiration date on both local and public shares. Now you can set an expiration date only on public shares, and local shares do not expire when public shares expire. The only way to “expire” a local share is to click the trash can icon to un-share your files.

All documentation licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license.