Accessing your Files Using the ownCloud Web Interface

You can access your ownCloud files with the ownCloud web interface and create, preview, edit, delete, share, and re-share files. Your ownCloud administrator has the option to disable these features, so if any of them are missing on your system ask your server administrator.

The Files view screen.

ownCloud can display thumbnail previews for image files, MP3 covers, and text files, if this enabled by your server administrator. Hover your cursor over a file or folder to expose the controls for the following operations:

Favorites
Click the star to the left of the file icon to mark it as a favorite, and quickly find all of your favorites with the Favorites filter on the left sidebar.
Marking Favorite files.
Share
Share the file or folder with a group or other users, and create public shares with hyperlinks. You can also see who you have shared with already, and revoke shares by clicking the trash can icon. If username auto-completion is enabled, when you start typing the user or group name ownCloud will automatically complete it for you. If your administrator has enabled email notifications, you can send an email notification of the new share from the sharing screen.
Sharing files.

You have five share permissions:

  • Can share; allows the users you share with to re-share.
  • Can edit; allows the users you share with to edit your shared files, and to collaborate using the Documents app.
  • Create; allows the users you share with to create new files and add them to the share.
  • Change; allows uploading a new version of a shared file and replacing it.
  • Delete; allows the users you share with to delete shared files.
Overflow Menu
The Overflow menu (three dots) displays file details, and allows you to rename, download, or delete files.
Overflow menu.

The Details view shows Activities, Sharing, and Versions information.

Details screen.

Previewing Files

You can display uncompressed text files, OpenDocument files, videos, and image files in the ownCloud embedded viewers by clicking on the file name. There may be other file types you can preview if your ownCloud administrator has enabled them. If ownCloud cannot display a file, it starts a download process and downloads the file to your computer.

Video streaming by the native ownCloud video player depends on your Web browser and the video format. If your ownCloud administrator has enabled video streaming, and it doesn’t work in your Web browser, it may be a browser issue. See https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/HTML/Supported_media_formats#Browser_compatibility for supported multimedia formats in Web browsers.

Sharing Status Icons

Any folder that has been shared is marked with the Shared overlay icon. Public link shares are marked with a chain link. Un-shared folders are blank.

Share status icons.

If your ownCloud server is the Enterprise edition, you may also have access to Sharepoint and Windows Network Drive file shares. These have special status icons. An icon with a red plugin and background means you have to enter a login to get access to the share.

../_images/users-overlays-win-net-drive.png
../_images/users-overlays-sharepoint.png

Creating or Uploading Files and Directories

Upload or create new files or folders directly in an ownCloud folder by clicking on the New button in the Files app.

The New file/folder/upload menu.

The New button provides the following options:

Up arrow
Upload files from your computer into ownCloud. You can also upload files by dragging and dropping them from your file manager.
Text file
Creates a new text file and adds the file to your current folder.
Folder
Creates a new folder in the current folder.

Selecting Files or Folders

You can select one or more files or folders by clicking on their checkboxes. To select all files in the current directory, click on the checkbox located at the top of the files listing.

When you select multiple files, you can delete all of them, or download them as a ZIP file by using the Delete or Download buttons that appear at the top.

Note

If the Download button is not visible, the administrator has disabled this feature.

Filtering the Files View

The right sidebar on the Files page contains several filters for quickly sorting and managing your files.

All files
The default view; displays all files that you have access to.
Favorites
Files or folders marked with the yellow star.
Shared with you
Displays all files shared with you by another user or group.
Shared with others
Displays all files that you have shared with other users or groups.
Shared by link
Displays all files that are shared by you via public link.
External Storage
Files that you have access to on external storage devices and services such as Dropbox, Google, and Amazon S3.

Moving Files

You can move files and folders by dragging and dropping them into any directory.

Change in Share Expiration Date

In older versions of ownCloud, you could set an expiration date on both local and public shares. Now you can set an expiration date only on public shares, and local shares do not expire when public shares expire. The only way to “expire” a local share is to click the trash can icon to un-share your files.

All documentation licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license.